Jimmy Smiths Dairy Reviews

Jimmy Smiths Dairy luxury accommodation is a hit! Many of our guests book a return visit immediately. There is no surprise that prominent travel writers from Qantas Travel Insider, The Weekend Australian, the L.A. Times and Fleurieu Living Magazine have shared their excitement about Jimmy Smiths Dairy and the beautiful Port Elliot area. S.A. Life even filmed a feature episode on location!

We love hearing feedback from our guests and are very humbled by their kind words. Read on below to see where Jimmy Smiths Dairy has been featured and what our guests had to say. Find out more about Jimmy Smiths here and check out all the photos from Jimmy Smiths Dairy here.

Book now to enjoy your own luxury getaway


Jimmy Smiths Dairy luxury accommodation Port Elliot Fleurieu Peninsula front view

Welcome to Jimmy Smiths Dairy – luxury accommodation in Port Elliot, South Australia.


Jimmy Smiths Dairy – Media Reviews


Qantas Travel Insider

“The rest of the attraction is pure aesthetics. Owners Noel and Robyn Akmens spent years transforming this derelict bluestone dairy. Now, it’s all eye-catching artworks, polished bamboo floors, luxe bathrooms and Noel’s finely handcrafted furniture. The light-filled master bedroom faces a charming native garden, perfect for contemplation while sipping a morning coffee.” Jo McKay, Travel Insider writer.

In this Qantas Travel Insider article, Jo writes about “the most romantic getaways in South Australia”. We feel privileged to have made such a list and are proud our luxury accommodation features in the Spirit Of Australia inflight magazine.

The Weekend Australian

“If Enid Blyton had conjured a seaside village Down Under, it would be pretty Port Elliot, tucked away on Horseshoe Bay on the Fleurieu Peninsula one hour from Adelaide… Restored by owners Noel and Robyn Akmens, the once derelict dairy is now a light, bright, superbly finished and very private retreat; almost all the furniture has been handcrafted by Noel in the old shearing shed next door (see anything you like and he’ll make it to order).” Christine McCabe, The Weekend Australian Magazine.

Christine’s beautifully written article shares the magic of Port Elliot and the surrounding Fleurieu Peninsula.

Fleurieu Living Magazine

“Noel’s handmade oak, jarrah and Blackwood furniture pieces complement the sleek, modern lines of the reinvented dairy. References to the old building are scattered about: clay bricks salvaged from the property pave the outside areas, while inside, the sparkling new kitchen is all done up in bright, canary yellow – just like old Jimmy Smith’s original one.” James Howe, Fleurieu Living Magazine.

James visited Jimmy Smiths Dairy and saw first hand how the crumbling colonial dairy was lovingly saved from the grips of time.

Women’s Day NZ

“A magnificent combination of historic remains and every modern convenience, right down to a Nespresso coffee machine.. This unique two-bedroom getaway is really something special. My idea of holiday perfection.Sarah-Kate Lynch, Travel Editor, Woman’s Day, NZ.

Sarah-Kate writes weekly columns for Women’s Day NZ Travel Stories. You can read her entire article about South Australia’s wine regions here.

SA Life

“Robyn and Noel Akmens built this luxury accommodation, quite literally from the ground up. Once a crumbling mess of bluestone walls the couple has completely reimagined this former dairy – it’s now a modern and inviting retreat for one or two couples.” Kelly Golding from SA Life.

We were privileged to host Kelly for an afternoon and watch her and the team work their magic in a feature on Jimmy Smith’s Dairy. The end result is fantastic 3 minute piece showing off Jimmy Smiths beautiful features.

L.A. Times

“Just 27 miles south of Adelaide, the capital of the state of South Australia, is a little-known Mediterranean-style region called the Fleurieu Peninsula with world-class wines, local produce and passionate growers, stellar beaches and small towns with a thriving cuisine scene….” Margo Pfeiff, LA Times.

Jimmy Smiths Dairy luxury accommodation proudly features in the LA Times article about South Australia’s Fleurieu Peninsula. Whether you are an international jet setter or an interested local, Margo reveals some of the many secrets left to discover in this beautiful region of Australia.


Jimmy Smiths Dairy – Guest Reviews

Easter  2016
Thank you Noel & Robyn for creating such a wonderful place! You’ve done an amazing job and have thought of everything. We have been very comfortable and relaxed during our stay here (also very well fed!) So, when can we move in Permanently?…… No, okay we’ll be back then! Thanks again!

– Claire & Michael, Glenelg SA

4th March 2016

What a wonderful place. We loved our time at Jimmy Smiths Dairy. Lovely hosts. We hope to come back one day. Thank you Noel & Robyn.

– Michaela & Damien, Adelaide SA

10th January  2016

One of the best places to stay, simply wonderful. We’ll be back.

– Jhon & Odete, Adelaide SA

27th December 2015

Big thank you to Noel & Robyn. Staying at JSD over Xmas & New Year for me was fantastic. Five minutes to work and thinking about the end of the day relaxing back here with a glass of wine. Many Thanks.

– Maxine, Adelaide SA

11th December 2015

Thanks for the relaxing stay, so lovely to be at Jimmy Smiths Dairy & away from the hustle & bustle. So much attention to detail, we loved our stay.

– Jemma & David, Adelaide SA

2nd December 2015

An absolute gem!! As was the 1st at V.H. Golf Course. Thanks for a relaxing stay.

– Colin & Bev Ocean Grove Vic.

14th November 2015

Brilliant…… What an amazing renovation,heart & soul have definitely gone into the build. Wish we were here longer to enjoy the tranquility but hopefully will be back again as we return to search possible retirement spots.

– Miranda & John, Perth WA

 1st November 2015

We’ve loved our weekend getaway at Jimmy’s. It’s a beautiful space with amazing natural light, tastefully decorated & every comfort thought of. De Groot’s coffee was great as was the Joyful Buddahs for a massage. We will be Back! Thank you!

– Aaron & Laura Adelaide  SA

25th October 2015

We were looking for somewhere to relax and we sure found it. Only a couple of minutes from Elliot & 5 from Victor but so quiet. The walk up Heysen Road was very worthwhile & the morning coffee at de Groot was delightful. Plenty for breakfast & Noel was very welcoming with a wealth of knowledge on the area. Cosy, Clean & Relaxing. We will certainly spread the word & most definitely will return.

– Duanne & Jodie, Golden Grove SA

11th October 2015

We have thoroughly enjoyed our stay here. Quiet & relaxing in wonderful accommodation. Thank you Noel and Robyn for coming over to meet us. It was lovely to meet you both.

– Andrea & David, Old Reynella
– Pat & Lawrie, Morphett Vale

28th September 2015

Thank you for a lovely getaway, the place is lovely and peaceful and very beautifully decorated. It was a really nice touch to meet you both and to be let in on Port Elliot’s little secret places. Thank you again.

– Sam & Anthony, Adelaide SA

12th July 2015

We had a truly wonderful stay! What a beautiful place to get away to for the weekend. We wish we could stay longer. Thank you for all the special touches and for your generous hospitality. It was also lovely to meet you both at the beginning of our stay. Thanks again and we’ll see you again soon!

– Sarah & Marius, Adelaide SA

28th June 2015

We really enjoyed our stay here. Thank you for your warm welcome. We felt spoilt with all the treats you left us – they were delicious!

– Peter & Tanya,Barossa Valley SA

6th June 2015

Vision + Execution =Perfection. Where else could we barbeque a steak, drink fine wine and dine under the Milky Way on a winter’s night but JSD? Where else could we recline in total comfort as the sun sets watching the antics of red cheeked wattle birds in Pink Gum but JSD? Thank you for preserving the integrity of Jimmy’s place and for your willingness to share such beauty with others. See you soon.

– Trish & Nick, Craigmore SA

2nd May  2015

Where do we start. From the moment we walked into this house, we were embraced by the warmth and homely feeling. It has been a wonderfully relaxing experience, accompanied with a beautiful view. We loved reading through the book that reveals the history of such a beautiful house. It has everything we needed to feel comfortable and relaxed. Thank you for making our honeymoon a memorable stay! We will certainly be back and spreading the word of the experience we’ve had.

– Mitch & Leigh, Adelaide SA

26th April 2015

We are torn between saying that this place should be kept a secret, held by very few, and saying it should be shouted from the rooftops. We think the latter.

– David & Charmian, Adelaide SA

12th April 2015

Had a lovely, relaxing time. Thanks for all the little things.

– Madi & Marcus, Adelaide SA

Easter 2015

WOW! From the moment we walked in we were in love with this place! Thanks so much for thinking of every little thing to turn our holiday from disaster to a simply wonderful adventure. Noel – Your furniture is stunningly beautiful. Our warm greeting and the hospitality we received from you both warmed our hearts. We’ll be back!!

– Kelly & Pam, Torquay Vic

29th March 2015

Easily one of the best B&B’s we’ve ever stayed at! Very luxurious & perfect for the 2 of us. Loved the hamper, decor, furniture & fit-out.We will highly recommend JSD to everyone we know. Thank you for your hospitality – a perfect getaway. We’ll be back!!

– Kellie & Brent, Adelaide SA

 14th March 2015

Thank you so much for having us. What an amazing & beautiful place to stay. We had such a great time just relaxing here and enjoying your hospitality. Noel, thanks for coming by to say hi. We took your advice and visited the Farmer’s Market at Victor & had lunch in Goolwa. Apart from a bit of sightseeing, I think we loved being here at JSD the best. Your furniture is lovely & the house is quiet, peaceful, so comfortable & a pleasure to stay in. Thanks so much.

– Tania & Michael, Adelaide SA

9th March 2015

Second time we have stayed here…. Just as lovely & relaxing as the first! THANKS!!!

– Tash & Brad, Adelaide SA

20th February 2015

Groovy pad Groovy furniture Groovy location Groovy time

– D&D, Athelstone SA

9th February 2015

Such a beautiful stay for our 1st wedding anniversary. We love your Dairy B&B, especially the decor. Well Done!! Thanks for having us.

– Murray & Fiona, Adelaide SA

30th January 2015

A very relaxing two days in superb surroundings. Only wish we could stay longer.

– Graeme & Janet, Kingston Park SA

26th January 2015

Too Good!! One of the best B&B’s we have stayed at. The most accommodating & nicest hosts! The food hamper & bottle of wine. Love the use of local produce!!! Is very hard to leave. Will be back!

– Tash & Brad, Adelaide SA

7th January 2015

We were absolutely delighted with the truly 5 star accommodation. What a fantastic effort to have restored this old dairy, retaining so much character yet imparting style & flare. We have stayed in many B&B’s/resorts & hotels, yet this place will certainly be one of the most memorable. The food hamper was scrumptious, the location perfect as a base for exploring (whether bike riding, hiking or getting dumped at Boomer Beach). Noel – your furniture is highly crafted & we appreciated your visit to inform us of the facilities & local attractions. We would love to come back & will certainly recommend Jimmy Smith’s to those seeking that special experience.

– Leonie & Jason, Grange SA

3rd January 2015

What a wonderful week we have had at Jimmy Smith’s Dairy. 5 star accommodation, delightful tranquil setting and sea views! We feel so relaxed and very pampered……… and well fed. Thank you Noel & Robyn. We will definitely be back.

– Lee & Michael Hussey, Adelaide SA

7th December 2014

We came for a night & feel like we’ve done a week’s worth of relaxing. Everything about this place is stunning. Love all the funky handmade furniture, the local produce,the history & the gorgeous (quiet) setting. For two former dairy girls it was gobsmacking to see an old dairy come to life like this. THANK YOU!!  Can’t wait to tell the world about it.

– Katie Spain & Simone Hawkins, Adelaide SA

7th July 2014

We feel very honoured, not to mention warm and comfortable, to be the first official guests to stay in Jimmy Smiths Dairy. It’s a very special place in a wonderful part of the world and we look forward to coming back. Also, we need to see the end of  ‘Life of Brian’, we missed the crucifixion. Always look on the bright side of life!

– Sarah-Kate & Mark, Auckland  NZ